Soon to be Mrs Foad

Sorry I have been so absent recently, I have been busy planning my wedding!!

After ten years of being together and nine years of being engaged, I think it’s safe to say that it’s about time we finally bit the bullet and got wed. 

I had no idea how stressful wedding planning and organising is, it’s not like you imagine it to be. I never wanted a big wedding, I think mainly because my parents divorced when I was quite young so I never had much faith in marriage and I’m still jubious about it now, maybe that’s why I have been so reluctant to take the plunge. 

Our wedding is booked for April next year, we are still trying to find venues for the reception but as I have anxiety I want to get as much done as soon as possible. Budget is tight, and we are trying to save as much money as possible for a honeymoon, as my partner has been to a lot of places I’ve always wanted to go too, finding a destination is proving difficult.

 Now that the Ceremony is booked and hopefully the venue wil be booked this weekend, I literally have no idea what the next step is. Im popping to a crafting shop this evening to make a start on my homemade wedding decorations, and any other wedding decorations I can make myself. Our colour scheme is a bit out there and has mixed reviews but I think it will look stunning. Luna will be my flower girl and of course Oscar will be the Paige boy, I can’t wait for them to be a part of our special day. Traditionally I am aware we have done it the wrong way round, but I always wanted my children to be involved in my wedding. Although when they are older I don’t think they will remember it but at least there will be photo’s for them to look back on. 

We are trying to keep costs down to a minimum, the ceremony itself wasn’t too expensive, and a few family members are contributing towards a few things too. My cousin is going to be my photographer which will save us a massive cost. I am hand making as much as possible, including the cake! This will need a few trail runs to say the least. I have never baked a cake from scratch in my life, I just can’t justify spending hundreds on a cake! 

I’m excited to have the same surname as my partner and my children, our family will finally feel like a family. Is married life any different to living with my partner for nine years? Possibly not, but I’m excited to accept the new challenge and every up and down that goes with it. 

I’m hoping not to turn into one of those bridezillas, but in all fairness, I can’t guarantee that. I’m under a lot of pressure and I’m not really sure how my anxiety is going to cope but hopefully it will all be worth it and all will go according to plan, I mean I have got just under a year to sort everything out, it’s doable right? 

Leave a Reply

