It’s getting slightly better

Thought I’d write an update as I haven’t blogged in a while. So the whole withholding situation with Oscar…

He has been taking Lactulose every day now to see if that encourages him to go everyday, like the pharmacist said it would as he wouldn’t be able to hold it in anymore. At the moment this doesn’t appear to be working. He is still going up to three/four days without going (still stressful!)

We introduced stickers for when he does go, but even that isn’t encouraging him. Apparently it is more common than what I first thought, going on the feedback I have received from other parents on my previous blogs. Most of the people I have spoken to about this have said ‘don’t stress about it.’ I thought this was impossible as its something so simple yet so frustrating how can you possibly not get stressed over something so illogical, but I tried it.

We went to get our Christmas tree on Saturday and I think it was day three of the withholding, I refused to let his moods and constant ‘mooing noise’ ruin the day. We carried on as normal, and I didn’t stress, neither did Dan. Yes Oscar still held it in, but we didn’t stress. It actually made a HUGE difference to Oscars mood and ours. When we got home he took himself off to the toilet without us stressing at him and telling him to go, and he went. He still cried and it was still too big, but the point I’m getting at is that you were right with the don’t stress thing. He now isn’t associating the toilet with stress that much and we just leave him to it. Hopefully if we carry on the ‘no stress’ method, psychologically he will maybe get over it quicker. We give him the most enthusiastic praise you can imagine when he does go, but eventually it will work. I’m seeing things much more positively and I’m confident it won’t be long until he is back to ‘normal’.

I just need to keep thinking, one day this will all be a distant memory and he will grow out of the withholding phase. Thank you all you lovely people for advising me on something so simple yet so effective. It’s hard to not stress, but now I have seen the benefits I will definitely be carrying it on. Finally a post where I can end on a positive. Things are looking up!

 

Leave a Reply

