I can’t cope anymore and I’m not ashamed to say it. 

  • What do I do when the naughty step doesn’t work anymore, or taking his toys off him doesn’t work either? 
  • Why is it just my son?
  • Why does he hate me?
  • Where has my happy boy gone?
  • It’s me isn’t it?

Every day these questions are in my head.

I feel like the worst parent in the world saying this but it’s reached breaking point. Something has to give! Looks like it’s me though. 

Maybe it’s just me? Maybe it’s my anxiety that makes me react the way I do with his tantrums. 

I have to deal with his mood swings and tantrums every day through the week, and for some reason it’s worse at weekends even though dan is home or we take him out places, so it’s not bordom it’s just Oscar hating me and wants to make me unhappy. I literally don’t know what to do, am I the only person to feel this way? He really affects me when he’s like this and I’m pretty sure Oscar’s moods are worse than most other toddlers his age. I’ve seen other people’s toddlers tantrums and they are nothing compared to Oscar. He is miserable all the time! This has been happening for nearly a year now, and it’s not getting any better. I find it hard to believe this is just what terrible twos are like, I don’t see any other parents struggling everyday like this, on the verge of a breakdown because it’s the same everyday. It could be to do with his poo withholding which is STILL happening by the way! But surely it can’t affect his moods this much?

He doesn’t listen, I will get down to his level and talk to him and he just won’t listen or he finds it funny. I never thought a two and half year old could effect me so much. I miss my happy boy! I want him back and it breaks me to see the child he is now. I’m not exaggerating it is like he is possessed when his tantrums kick in. We’ve resorted to bribery and before you all judge I bet all of you at some point or will use bribery, but now that doesn’t work. I’ve taken his toys off him and ‘put them in the bin’ (actually just hidden them but he’s none the wiser) and he now helps to put them in the bin and that doesn’t bother him. 

Hitting/smacking is such a taboo subject like I’ve mentioned in my previous blogs. I have never hit him, felt myself come close but never done it. I used to get smacked when I was a child and it never did me any harm but it’s illegal I think and the amount of debates it causes is just not an option for me. 

Do you have any tips for me baring in mind I feel it’s all me and my bad parenting in some way, and I have three month old baby to look after too. 

Please help me, again I can’t end on a positive at the moment. 

Leave a Reply

