Entry number one of many!

Welcome to my blog. My name is Colette and I am a mother of two. I have a challenging, hyperactive, naughty, cheeky (the list could go on) three year old called Oscar. I have welcomed my problematic daughter, Luna, into the world. She is nine months old.

I decided to start a blog to share my experiences and daily struggles with other mums and dads. The real problems. The every day ones where you see the ‘perfect’ family walk by and you can’t help but wonder why you have two possessed children who hate you. The everyday feeling when you don’t know whether to bang your head against a wall or smother them with cuddles, as  your moods can’t cope with theirs. Surely what I’m feeling is normal right? I mean, I can’t be the only mother in the world to feel like this. Please give me hope that others are going through this chaotic, whirlwind of parenthood.

Going back to my children, I have had my fair share of problems with them both. Oscar was a pretty easy baby, I can say that now because Luna is by far a lot more difficult than Oscar ever was. Oscar was easy until he reached one and we switched him to cows milk, causing him all sorts of constipation related problems and was prescribed movicol. This is the worst thing the doctors have given, as at the time they don’t warn you that their bowels become reliant on the movicol and trying to wean them back off it is a nightmare. I’m not joking its probably the worst thing I’ve ever had to do. He has been off it for two months now and he is still having many problems. So if any other parents have gone through this or want help, I am here! Many times I have been in tears over this and wanted other parents to talk to but unless your child has been through it, you can’t really give advice (another issue that annoys me, but I’ll save that for another blog post).

Now where to begin with Luna…

She started off being sick, I just thought was a standard baby thing, but no. This was like a projectile jet wash of milk after every feed, I was going through three to four outfits a day for her! She got diagnosed with severe re-flux, to which she is on gaviscon and ranitidine (which made her more sick so I have stopped that now). After being referred to a dietician she has now been diagnosed with a milk intolerance and is on a formula called Neocate and is also having omeprezole to line her stomach. Never have I wanted to wean so early! She is still being sick, granted not as much, but I think this is how its going to be now until she is weaning. This as a mother, has made me feel like I’m failing. The feeling of not being able to help your child, is one that breaks me! The amount of stress I have endured trying to get her ‘normal’, the amount of different doctors I have seen and spoken to, but here is hoping things will get better. That’s how I manage on a day to day basis, it will get better it’s just a long winding road to get there.

So there is me and my life in a nutshell. I will be posting regular blogs about Oscar and his challenging tantrums, and about Luna’s progress with her milk intolerance and re-flux. Sometimes us mums just need to rant to other mums, and not to feel judged for locking ourselves in the bathroom just to get five minutes peace whilst scoffing some chocolate. Trust me, I’ve felt every emotion possible. The joys of parenthood eh?

Leave a Reply

